Members of the ACSS

List of the members of ACSS.

Last updated: 24 May 2022

The ACSS comprises an independent chair and nine independent members.

The members of the ACSS are:

Professor Susan Michie (Chair)

Susan Michie, FMedSci, FAcSS, is a Professor of Health Psychology and Director of the Centre for Behaviour Change at University College London. Susan is a chartered clinical and health psychologist, and elected Fellow of the UK’s Academy of Medical Sciences, Academy of Social Sciences, where she Chaired the Academy’s ‘Health of People’ Advisory Committee, as well as the USA’s Academy of Behavioural Medicine Research and its Society of Behavioural Medicine. 

Ms Julie Hill (Deputy Chair)

Julie Hill has a background in environmental policy and politics. She has been Executive Director of Green Alliance (a leading UK NGO), Deputy Chair of the Agriculture and Environment Biotechnology Commission (which led the public debate on GM crops), a board member of the Eden Project and of the Environment Agency for England and Wales. 

Professor Dan Rigby

Daniel Rigby is a Professor of Environmental Economics at the University of Manchester, and also holds a position at the University of Western Australia. He has been undertaking research in food and agriculture for over 20 years with his work increasingly focused on food and food safety.

Professor George Gaskell

George Gaskell has been on the London School of Economics (LSE) faculty since 1971, for 21 years as a member of the Social Psychology Department; then as co-founder and director of the Department of Methodology; Pro-Director Planning and Resources and Special Advisor to LSE’s President. 

Dr Hannah Lambie-Mumford

Hannah Lambie-Mumford is a Research Fellow at the Sheffield Political Economy Research Institute (SPERI), University of Sheffield. Hannah has undertaken research on food charity and food insecurity for funders including the Economic and Social Research Council (ESRC) and the Engineering and Physical Sciences Research Council (EPSRC).

Professor Julie Barnett

Julie Barnett is Professor of Health Psychology and Associate Pro-Vice-Chancellor of Research at the University of Bath. Julie is a social and health psychologist with research experience and interests around risk perception and risk communication, loneliness and social connection and experiences of managing food hypersensitivity.

Dr Seda Erdem

Seda Erdem is an Associate Professor of Economics at the University of Stirling. She has a background in behavioural science and food economics.

Professor Spencer Henson

Spencer Henson is a Professor at the University of Guelph in Canada and Professorial Fellow at the Institute of Development Studies (IDS) in the UK. He is recognised internationally for his expertise on food safety and quality.